Meet the handler

November 7th, 2016

Hey Guys! As Tim and Trent introduced in the last blog post, I'm Carlleen and I'm the new handler for Trent this season. My goal is to not only keep you up to date on what is happening, but to also want to answer any and all questions you may have for us. I'm also going to do Meet the Member Monday, so each week on Monday I'm going to introduce a member of the team whether that would be human or dog, lol. So, here's the first Meet the member.

~Carlleen

Our first meet the member is the new handler, Carlleen. Here's some info about her.

Age:20 (21 in a week!)

Favorite Color:Pink, and then red

Favorite Season: Winter and fall

Where were you born: Green Bay, Wisconsin

Why did you move to Idaho: I moved to Idaho to continue my education and to stay in the sled dog sport. I'm currently attending CWI for Agriculture Science

How did you get into mushing: Back when I was in 5th grade, my family and I went to go see my uncle and cousins race. After that, I told them that's what I wanted to do. In 6th grade, I started sprint racing and every since I decided I wanted to mush dogs. When we kept taking longer than the faster teams, it was my thought that maybe I should try for mid-distance to distance mushing. It wasn't until I ran the Eagle Cap 31 mile pot race in 2016 that I actually ran a longer race than 6 miles.

What are you future plans: I plan to open a sled dog touring company and petting zoo. I hope to run the Iditarod one day and to educate the public about mushing and dogs.

Anything else about you: I have 2 retired sled dogs that are living back in Wisconsin with my parents. There names are Chipmunk (tan dog) and Dingo (black dog). These two dogs did everything with me. I've done 4-H obedience, agility, and showmanship with them along with dressing up and taking photos. I love taking photos (You guys will see a lot of my personal photos that I've taken) and spending time with my boyfriend. I also skijor (I'm not very good at it though) and dryland racing. Feel free to ask any other questions to get to know me!